What teams make up the rugby Six Nations? – PaintBallBeam.com

THE Six Nations is one of rugby’s most popular events, made up of Europe’s finest teams.

For those who may be tuning in to watch the tournament for the first time, here’s a look at the teams who take part and the history of it.


France won the 2022 edition of the tournament, their first title for 12 years

What teams make up the rugby Six Nations?

The Six Nations is made up of six International teams from Europe.

The teams are England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France and Italy.

France are the defending champions, having won the 2022 edition unbeaten. It was their first title since 2010.

It is four points for a win, with a bonus point given if a team scores four or more tries during a match.

Two points are given for a draw and no points for a loss.

When was the Six Nations created?

The tournament has been ran in its current format since 2000, when Italy joined the tournament.

Before this, it was known as the Five Nations from 1910 to 1931. This consisted of England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and France.

It returned to the Home Nations in 1931 when France were expelled from the tournament amid allegations of professionalism.

This was because Rugby Union was considered an amateur sport until 1995. France returned in 1947 after World War II.

Before France joined, It had been known as the Home Nations Championship from its inception in 1883.

Who has won the most Six Nations?

England and Wales currently hold the joint record of most titles in this competition, winning 39 each, although England have the most outright wins, with 29.

The rule was previously that the trophy could be shared, however since 1994, if teams are level on points, points difference is used, in terms of points scored by the team during the matches.

France have won it 26 times, Ireland 25 times and Scotland have won it 24 times.

Italy are the only nation in the tournament to have never won it, their highest finish being fourth in both 2007 and 2013.

There are other titles that can be awarded during the tournament as well, including the grand slam, which is achieved when a team wins all their matches.

Other titles that can be awarded during the tournament include the triple crown trophy, where one of the home nations beats the other three.

Related Posts

Gemini horoscope: Star sign dates, compatibility and personality – The US Sun – PaintBallBeam.com

IF you were born around May or June you may be a social and talkative Gemini. But what does the star sign mean and which signs are…

Who is Nicola Sturgeon’s husband Peter Murrell? – PaintBallBeam.com

PETER MURRELL has been married to Nicola Sturgeon since 2010, and is the chief executive of the Scottish National Party. Here’s all you need to know about…

Who is Prue Leith’s son Danny Kruger? – PaintBallBeam.com

DANNY KRUGER is a Conservative MP who is also known for being the son of a celebrity chef. He and his mother have had public disagreements in…

Mason Greenwood’s potential new club revealed as Champions League side ‘make inquiries’ for star striker – PaintBallBeam.com

A CHAMPIONS League team has been “making inquiries” about potentially signing Mason Greenwood. Greenwood, 21, hasn’t played for his current club Manchester United since his arrest in…

Watch PSG star Sergio Ramos SHOVE photographer after disappointing 1-0 loss to Bayern Munich – PaintBallBeam.com

SERGIO RAMOS shoved a photographer after Paris Saint-Germain’s 1-0 Champions League defeat to Bayern Munich last night. The Spaniard was applauding fans as he let his frustrations…

Man Utd women’s team ‘disturbed’ by Mason Greenwood videos as they don’t want star to return to training – PaintBallBeam.com

MANCHESTER United Women’s team don’t want Mason Greenwood to return to their training ground, sources say. The striker had attempted rape charges against him dropped earlier this…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *